Old November 7, 2002, 16:34   #1
dudemanjack
Warlord

Local Time: 06:36
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Cossacks
Does anybody play Cossacks? I have this game and the Art of War expansion and I just can't get enough. I'm not a huge RTS fan but this one has my attention.

Probably because of the huge battles you can have. I can't wait to try it multiplayer (still working on getting some friends interested in it). It should be a blast! What do you guys think?
Old November 7, 2002, 23:43   #2
DarkCloud
staff
NationStatesAlpha Centauri Democracy GameCivilization II Democracy GameInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamSpanish CiversCiv4 InterSite DG: Apolyton TeamPolyCast TeamApolyton Storywriters' GuildAge of Nations TeamApolytoners Hall of Fame

Local Time: 10:36
I like cossacks, but can't really figure it out... Could you please give me some strategies since I don't have the time to learn by trial by error?
Old November 8, 2002, 00:30   #3
dudemanjack
Warlord

I'm no pro at it, and haven't really played other people, but what I tend to do is build as many cheap units as possible in the beginning to defend while pumping out peasants to gather resources.

I like to use the diplomatic centers for cheap 5 gold units, mainly as cannon fodder. You can set it to build them indefinately by hitting CTRL while clicking on the picture (you can do this for building any unit).

I also try and get as many mines as possible, and generally get as many peasants working the land as I can. Then you can work on getting the better units available (like upgrading your musketmen) and really start whooping some arse. It isn't entirely necessary to get awesome musketmen, but I like to hold off on an early attack and get the better shooters. Oh, and don't forget the cavalry