Old November 9, 2002, 08:19   #1
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Local Time: 06:43
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Opportunity is knocking -- any advice?
Newbie here, good builder but weak warmonger. Here's the situation:

The Americans and Babylonians have teamed up to attack the Zulus. All these guys are on my border, but the front for this war will end up being far away. Thus, it present the perfect opportunity for my democracy to attack from the rear, grab a couple of cities, and negotiate a quick peace treaty before war-weariness sets in. The question is, who to hit?

a) The Zulus -- they're already fighting a two-front war and they're weak to begin with; they'll be easy and never retaliate.

b) The Americans -- they're only on my border because they built an isolated city far away from their empire; they're strong, but if I take it we won't have a border any more and they're unlikely to make too much of it.

c) The Babylonians -- they're reasonably strong, so hitting them will pare them back.

Assuming no resources can be gained in any of these land-grabs, and no city gained will give a strategic advantage like a choke-point, who should I hit?
Old November 9, 2002, 08:53   #2
Pyrodrew
Prince

Local Time: 02:43
I believe many will ask you to upload your save game file so they can look at the entire situation.
Old November 9, 2002, 11:16   #3
candybo
Warlord

Local Time: 05:43
I say: Hit 'em all!!... Babs first so as not to weaken your unofficial allies at the time, then Zulus before Americans, because that may be the only way to keep America involved just yet. OTOH, maybe America before Zulu, before the others have a chance to take the American city...
Old November 9, 2002, 11:40   #4
CJM
Settler

Local Time: 05:43
Some tough choices. I'd come down tentatively on the side of attacking the Zulu. Rationale?