Old November 14, 2002, 07:45   #91
Urban Ranger
NationStatesApolyton Storywriters' GuildNever Ending Stories
Deity

Local Time: 18:45
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by Alexander's Horse
So the question remains - why are you so angry at God?
Ah - a complex question.

So the question remains, does the Christian god exist? If not, the question simply is meaningless, like asking a person why he is mad at Zeus.
Old November 14, 2002, 10:47   #92
gsmoove23
Warlord

Local Time: 10:45
Quote:
Originally posted by Urban Ranger
Quote:
Originally posted by Japher
I prefer the divinity thing, even though I am a scientist. It is a comfortable feeling to believe we are not alone.
This raises two points:

1. I think humans as a whole has come a long way in the last several thousand years. It is about time to lose this mental crutch and stand on our own.

2. Suppose that there is a deity or a group of deities, what makes it that Christianity is the correct religion? Nothing whatsoever. As I raised the point earlier in this thread, Christianity is no different from other religions fudamentally. Why can't it be Zeus, Odin, Ra, the Celestial Emperor, Ralph the Snake God, Umguf the Invisble Unicorn, the Ten Foot Hare, the Gigantic Banana, etc., etc.?
1. Who said believing in God was the crutch. Perhaps the real crutch is believing that we as insignificant human beings have any right to say we know enough about the universe to tell someone else he's wrong, much less we're right.

2. Your definition of "no fundamental difference" may be a little strange. If you mean that Christianity is no different because it argues an order for the universe and an explanation perhaps it is also similar to some forms of atheism. Otherwise, if your only definition of a religion is a belief in some form of divinity, then by that limited definition you are correct.
Old November 14, 2002, 13:02   #93
Dauphin
Civilization IV PBEMPolyCast Team
Deity

Local Time: 11:45
Quote: