Old November 26, 2002, 20:08   #31
djafrot
Settler

Local Time: 11:07
Local Date: November 1, 2010
By now you've probably made your choice, but I'll chime in too. I'm not a computer expert by any means, but have been using since a good old apple II+ back in the mid eighties. After that I had a Mac Classic, then switched to PC purely on a price basis.

Right now I have a PC running XP pro, and my parents have a Mac G4. I use their machine every weekend when I'm back home, and it drives me INSANE. First off, it came installed with both OS9.1 and OSX, switching between them when necessary. The set up tries to be intuitive, but when I would take a look at the hard drive, stuff was all over the place. I couldn't do basic stuff like burn a cd or buy a DVD player for it. Games pretty much don't exist. Every once in a while it forgets what resolution its on and the letters come up big enough to read from the next room. $*%#$&! My parents, being pretty much novices, are completely beleaguered by the thing.

I advised them to get a PC (if only because I knew more about it) but they listened to their artsy friends.

My advice: if you are a knowledgable computer user,don't bother with a Mac. Macs, I feel, are for people who don't really know what they're doing and have the money to buy something that does everything for you.

Yes, I have problems with my pc... but since everyone else has one, I just ask someone else about it and usually there's an explanation.

Oh, yeah, I HATE those stupid ads with the girl who says "I saved Christmas" or the guy who complains about the "blue screen of death". I plug my DV Cam and my printer and my joystick into XP and it works just fine. And the extra $2000 I saved from not buying a Mac goes a long way.
Old November 26, 2002, 23:41   #32
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 07:07
Alright my last time posting this, but for those who have not read it beofre, you may get a chukle: