Old December 7, 2002, 03:00   #1
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Local Time: 08:14
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Is it worth switching to democracy?
I know how democracy is different from republic: less corruption, more efficient workers, more war weariness. I like it as a gov't because I'm a builder; those 1st two traits arer great, and war weariness doesn't worry me since I try to avoid wars. But here's the question:

If I'm already in republic, and I'm not a religious civ, are the advantages gained by switching to democracy worth spending all those turns in anarchy? My initial thought would be "yes, as long as it's early enough in the game and you're not racing for a wonder." I'm wondering what others think, and what the basis forr your calculation is. TIA
Old December 7, 2002, 04:19   #2
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

As a non religous civ, I can not see any point in making more than one switch in the game. Despot to Republic is my choice, but you could do Monarch. I do not even research Demo. I will get it later. The lost of all that production is hard to make up and you do not need the boost from Demo at that point.
Old December 7, 2002, 07:48   #3
ChrisiusMaximus
Civilization III PBEMApolyton Storywriters' GuildCivilization III Democracy GameC3CDG Blood Oath HordeC4DG The HordeC4BtSDG Rabbits of CaerbannogCiv4 SP Democracy GameCivilization IV PBEMC4WDG éirich tuireann
Emperor

Local Time: 13:14
Yes thats true the loss in production is a sting, and rarely in a game is there an ideal time to change over. Always some problem to deal with of one kind or another. That said though there is no doubt that once you have got it the advantages are for all to see.

I suppose the best time to change is if you have a sizable tech lead of at least four or five and can afford to let the AI catch up a little. Also selling some tech beforehand can bring in extra revenues whilst this process takes place.

So I suppose in a round about way I agree with vmxa1.