Old December 29, 2002, 23:15   #1
chairmanmeow
Civilization III Democracy Game
Chieftain

Local Time: 09:28
Local Date: November 1, 2010
The Governor of Vitoria
This is my first attempt at a story on Apolyton. I hope you like it. I tried to attatch a map of the places mentioned in the story but it didn't work, so I'll just tell you that it's a map of Britain, with most of Spain in northern Wales with the exception of Vitoria, which is to the east, in central England. I was playing as England, but I thought it might be interesting to write a story in another civ's point-of-view. I'm posting the first three chapters now, and I'll probably post more later.

Chapter 1 - Vitoria, Spain - 30 AD

A cold wind pierced the town of Vitoria, as Juan walked slowly to the governor's mansion. The angry citzens of Vitoria had unanimously selected Juan to talk to the governor. They wanted him to try to reason with the governor, even though they knew that reasoning with a member of Isabella's despotic regime was impossible.

Why?, Juan thought. Why did they select me? They know I can't do anything.

The governor of Vitoria was known throughout Spain as the harshest governor in the entire country. Constant hard labor was the norm for the citizens of Vitoria, and luxuries were nonexistent. In some ways, this was understandable. Vitoria was situated far from the rest of Spain, and, in fact, was surrounded by English territory. However, the governor took extra effort to make life in Vitoria difficult. The governor maintained control over the city by assigning citizens to be entertainers, disregarding the fact that this caused the constant food shortages in Vitoria.

English culture was omnipresent in Vitoria. English was spoken by many commoners (even though it was illegal), and many Vitorians even thought of Queen Elizabeth, and not Queen Isabella, as their ruler.