Old January 18, 2001, 05:17   #1
Blake
lifer
PolyCast TeamCivilization IV: MultiplayerC4DG Gathering StormCivilization IV CreatorsApolyton UniversityApolytoners Hall of Fame
Beyond the Sword AI Programmer

Local Time: 18:00
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Morgan, the conquerer
A long time ago when I started playing SMAX I played and liked Morgan and FM, I played morgan quite a lot then, but havn't played him since.

Anyway I decided to have a play with morgan with my improved skills. Settings large, 50% water, high erosion/sparse rainfall/low native (a desert). Directed research, unity survey, spoils. Transcend difficulty.
My opponents are all the SMAX factions, except sven.

The map looks like many medium sized islands, but most are connected by bottlenecks. Anyway I started on mt planet and am near the north pole, in fact I ought to be able to build an inland sea easily. I research cent eco and Biogenetics.

The aliens land, looks like I'm safe. Until a battle ogre appears next to my second base. I just manage to arrest the impulsive restart motion, and decide to fight those hideous caretakers. First problem is the battle ogre sitting in a no parking zone, second problem I have two small cities, no weapons no probes and only snyth armour. The battle ogre doesn't attack me, guess it is studying the humans. With effective weapons atleast three techs away Diplomacy looks like my best bet so I start researching progy pysch. Looks like the caretakers want to communicate too, because next turn they call me up, I seem to achieve a truce.

I finish progy pysch and for want of something more useful to do start on SotB. Then the caretakers call me only to say they are going to clobber me. Oh well, I tried.