Old January 29, 2003, 22:54   #1
Sisawat
Chieftain

Local Time: 15:22
Local Date: November 1, 2010
But I was on your side!!
I am not very good at CivIII yet; my warlord game with 12 civs has been a learning experience.

Around 1500, I was seriously behind in tech and trying to catch up by going making as much money through trade as possible, since I was loaded with luxuries and little else. All the other nations seemed accomodating. I was trading with the Arabs when the other AI nations suddenly and inexplicably started a war of annihiliation against them.

By 1800 they were completely destroyed, previous to which I had participated in a trade embargo against them with the Koreans, since the offered more money that I was getting otherwise. About 1870, I go attempt some luxury trades with the Mongols, who participated in the war against the Arabs as one of the principal attackers. The Mongols tell me that can't trade with me because of my trecherous trade embargo against the Arabs.

Who they and the Ottomans destroyed.

WTF? Bug? Huh?
Old January 29, 2003, 23:08   #2
Wittlich
lifer
Call to Power II MultiplayerCivilization III MultiplayerTrade Wars / BlackNova TradersCivilization III PBEMPtWDG Vox ControliCivilization III Democracy GameCiv4 SP Democracy GameC3CDG EuphoricaIron CiversCivilization IV: MultiplayerCivilization IV PBEMC4WDG United Dungeon DwellersDiploGamesC4BtSDG TemplarsPolyCast Team
Deity

Local Time: 08:22
Yes, I've experienced that same trade embargo "bug" in past games I've played. It's almost as if the civilization that throws this up in your face is just looking for an excuse to deny your request!

I believe that Firaxis needs to readdress the AI actions involving embargos.

Also, once you have started an embargo, you're screwed. The embargo lasts for what, 20 turns? And if your diplomatic situation changes in the mean time, you can't cancel the embargo or do anything about it.