Old February 10, 2003, 19:18   #1
Datajack Franit
NationStates
King

Local Time: 17:08
Local Date: November 1, 2010
SMAC AI factions summary
A long time ago I've been wondering why I used to won 9 games out of 10 on transcend, rainy, huge maps even giving my techs for free in order to create some damn competition, and my first thought was "I'm so damn good at this game!"

Of course my dreams fell down as soon as I started playing again SMAC after abandoning it for more than one year. It's the damn AI!

Here are some good reasons:

Let's start with SMAC's factions:

Gaians: -1 police, -1 morale; they seem to focus on capturing mindworms and are even good at research, but try to invade them with a good strategy and you'll see that half of their armies are made up of pre-boils mind worms

Hive: my, what a disaster; they could rule the whole world with planned economics + police state, but instead what are they doing? Wasting piles of minerals building obsolete weapons

University: some good in this, network nodes and a free tech at the beginning of the game. Some limitation due to the free drone every 4 citizens and a weird habit in researching discover techs only

Morgans: what were they thinking when they made up this one? -1 support? Paying 1 mineral for every unit you own is enough to prevent you from expanding forever, not mentioning the infamous Free Market: police, planet? who cares! I'll build some 15size metropolis and get huge cash incomes from the economy bonus. Sure. If it wasn't for the 4 size limit

Spartans: great military bonus, morale, support.. what's wrong then? Is it me or cannot they manage to build anything but rovers, plasma garrisons and eventually bunkers?

Believers: a double-faced faction. Give them a large enough continent and some AI factions to trade with and they'll rule the world. Stuck them on a HUGE continent but ALONE and they'll be still researching biogenetics by 2250