Old February 15, 2001, 14:49   #1
George Garrett
Warlord

Local Time: 14:53
Local Date: October 30, 2010
Mystery Flight
Hi Folks,

Long time no "at sea" - but I am on this one. I just played my first space race game, at Chieftan, I launched at the "Okay to launch, 100% chance of success" message, last evening, and if I hadn't hit the "escape" button, this darn thing would be flying, this a.m.
I call it a "thing" advisedly, cos it looked so strange
with a barely-begun nose assembly.

Not my fault that I sent it out half-completed, I was willing to build the Spacecraft by rush-buying components from my 255 Science cities (I was doing rather well in this game) especially the structural bits, but, as a space novice I had no idea how many parts the structure required, altho the number 39 at
which the dialogue box assured me that the structure was complete, seemed odd to me:-)

So...my question is : Did I do wrong, or is there a bug in my version of Civ2? By the way, my game was abruptly terminated, by a Final Score (1500+) in 1905 -
I hadn't achieved 2020 nor World Domination, so how come I was terminated? Did my space-craft land, after all? (It couldn't be that the AI won the space race -it was far behind in technology}.

I don't know if anyone has suggested this for Civ3, but while watching my half-finished spacecraft on its fruitless forever flight thro the stars, I would have appreciated some idea of its progression towards A.C.

Perhaps a glimmer gradually growing larger as the ship nears the target?

------------------
Old February 16, 2001, 07:06   #2
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Local Time: 18:53
Hi George. I always choose to build a spaceship, and here's what I know (which is to say, what I've learned here):