Old April 7, 2003, 11:51   #1
Justinianum
MacScenario League / Civ2-Creation
Chieftain

Local Time: 00:17
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Help, I'm a newbie
Hi to everyone. I'm a long time civ2 scenarios fan and I'm currently working to a fantasy scenario based on Dungeons and Dragons world of Mystara. The scenario takes its inspiration fron an old D&D adventure: Red Arrow Black Shield, that covers the invasion of Mystara by Desert Nomads. I've taken a lot of inspiration form the masterpiece Red Front (although mine will be a fantasy scenario, is focused mainly on the military aspect) and I'm currently working on the events to force the AI to invade fast and furiously. I need to use several type of terrains, but I don't know how to place special resources (gems, iron, oil, gold.....) exactely where I want. Can anyone help me with that problem? Thanks
Old April 7, 2003, 12:07   #2
curtsibling
staff
Scenario League / Civ2-Creation

If you go to map editor, you can change the resource seed, which will re-distribute the bonus tiles...

Seeing as I reckon you have already made your map...
I would recommend renaming and using the useless Glacier terrain as a special bonus terrain that you can place anywhere...

And the oil and ivory you could rename to add some variety...

I assume a desert invasion scenario, won't have much use for cold terrain, but the tundra tile can be used if you must...

I hope I am of some help.
Old April 7, 2003, 14:24   #3
Justinianum
Chieftain

Quote:
Originally posted by curtsibling
If you go to map editor, you can change the resource seed, which will re-distribute the bonus tiles...
Actually I haven't understood how to use that tool; but if I'm not wrong it changes the type of possible resources for a particular tile and their distribution. Suppose that I want only 6 oil patches in the map and all them near 1 city only. Is it possible to achieve such a goal using the resource seed?

Quote:
Seeing as I reckon you have already made your map...