Old April 17, 2003, 21:15   #1
Knecht
Chieftain

Local Time: 23:52
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Ethnic Goody Huts?
I recently began playing as the Americans after discovering that Scouts could be used to gobble up goody huts and thus grab all the ancient techs early. The last few games, however, I decided to try the Russians with a mind to try out cossacks and also to get an extra tech at the age change. But lo, playing on a huge map, I didn't find goody hut one. Zero hut count on the entire map two games in a row. I just started playing as the Americans again and got a goody just one space from my starting position and lots more nearby. Is this some kind of ethnic bias or am I not holding my mouth right?
Old April 18, 2003, 03:55   #2
alva
Civilization III PBEMPtWDG2 Cake or Death?PtWDG Gathering StormInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamC3C IDG: Apolyton TeamC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 01:52
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Has to do with the level of Barbarian activity, a preference you can set before starting the game. If set at lowest (or chosen through the random option), there are no gooodie-huts.

Edit: added NO , small word, quit a different meaning to sentence.

Noticed peoples answer were abit strange to my answer (or to that what I thought was the answer I had given, it is now)

Last edited by alva; April 18, 2003 at 06:45.
Old April 18, 2003, 04:12   #3
Chemical Ollie
King

Raging barbarians means more huts.
Old April 18, 2003, 05:00   #4
Master Zen
PtWDG Glory of WarApolytoners Hall of FameInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamSpanish CiversPtWDG2 Latin LoversC3C IDG: Apolyton TeamC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 17:52
Don't ask Panag though... he'll say the game is hard-coded to give the US better starting positions..

I've been playing Civ3 since it came out in oct/2001 and I have never noticed one civ getting a disproportionate amount of good or bad luck. Play enough games and you'll find out