Old May 28, 2003, 02:31   #1
Frankychan
ACDG The Human HiveAlpha Centauri Democracy GameNationStatesAlpha Centauri PBEMApolyton Storywriters' Guild
King

Local Time: 16:30
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Business is business.....
I have been informed that when my parents pass away my sister and I will inherit the property. In the clause, the property and house will be split 50/50 even. Here's where things get messy...

My sister has proven that she is unreliable. She is currently 26 years old. He hasn't held onto a job for longer than 6 months since she was 20. Right now she isn't working and has moved from residence to residence, racking up debts. Her current trend is to move out when she can't take my parents, rack up a whole smackload of debt, move back home, leave, etc etc. Her education is a G.E.D.

Myself? I am a high school grad and will graduate from college within a year. I've held onto my jobs for longer than 1 yr. (granted they were entry-level). I have a small number of debts that is education related.

Enough with the summary. My question is that when my parents pass away and the estate gets split 50/50, is there some way where I can legally obtain the other 50 percent? I'm afraid she'll make some sort of mistake managing the property or decide to sell the property (something my dad has said is a NO-NO).

Basically, it all comes down to business. Given her track record of employment, I don't think she stands a good chance against my own. Additionally, she is on welfare and is trying to get social security for disability (she's overweight). I'm thinking that against my own track record of education and length of employment, I stand a good chance of getting her half.

Side note: I plan on leaving half the property to my nephew (her kid) as well as my own kids. That's what my parent's said to me when they were explaining this.