Panag
MacCivilization II Democracy Game: ExodusC4BtSDG Rabbits of Caerbannog
Emperor

Local Time: 06:00
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by Patroklos
Hey All,

I assure you that the designers of video games are normally a diverse crowd themselves, so we really don't have to worry about them leaning to any particully geographic region. Most consumers buy civ to do the "what if" scenario.

"What if" the English did this,

"What if" I had ruled the Chinese.

For this reason the Civs included are those that were world powers OF SIGNIFIGANCE during there day, the ones people know. (i.e. England, Egypt, China, Aztec, etc.).

I have a degree in history, amongst other things, and know of scores of civilizations and nations and sects and tribes and on and on that are infinitly interesting and have contributed to the wealth of human history.
That doesn't, however, make them movers and shakers. We all know the Hebrew/Isrealite were influential, but in all reality they never had a singley continuous reign of more than fifty years without a) bieng conquered or b ) breaking into civil war/disorder. Someone want to tell me the territory maximum they ever held? Lots of potential but they normally stunted themselves or just got rolled over by the civs that are included (Egypt, Babylon, Hitties, Greeks, Romans, Ottamans, Arabs, Persains, Mongols, etc.). You can argue about battles if you want, but Isreal was ultimatley conquered by all these empires and never held dominion over a single one of them in turn.

So, with Isreal as an example, thats how civs should be picked. By relative power at there hieght (note relative, modern Isreal is more powerful than extinct Babylon now obviously, but Babylon was for a time the jewel of the civilized world, Isreal (and I happen to like Isreal) is a second rate modern power).