Old March 28, 2001, 18:34   #1
rwprice
Warlord

Local Time: 17:57
Local Date: October 30, 2010
How long did it take you to really understand Civ2?
How long did you play Civ2 until you really "got it"? What I mean is, did you immediately grasp the goal and point of the game, or did it take you a while to really understand? I don't mean fully understanding all the intricacies of gameplay, but rather the "big picture". I'm still fairly new to these types of games, and really new to Civ2, but sometimes it feels like I'm just pointlessly moving units around on the screen. Figuring out the main purpose isn't always clear, and I'm wondering if anyone else has felt this way. I'm going to keep plugging away, but I'm interested in knowing how most of you learned the game and became proficient at it.
Old March 28, 2001, 19:40   #2
Chris 62
Spanish CiversCivilization II MultiplayerApolytoners Hall of Fame
Emperor

Local Time: 18:57
I first played civ-1, so I had a good idea of what was going on. But after all this time, there are things I learn both the fine people here and the game itself that make it seem as if I don't know the game at all. Also, it is like a new game at each difficulty level. Don't get overwhelmed. Even if you don't beat the game the first time out, you can learn plenty just by playing, and you will soon be winning all the time, but still loving it, because it is always different.

------------------
All knowledge begins with the phrase: I don't know.
Old March 28, 2001, 23:45   #3
Dis
ACDG3 SpartansC4DG Vox
Deity

Local Time: 15:57
I still don't understand it

to answer your question better, I'd say either the first or second time I played it.

I never played civ1, but have watched others play civ1 and colonization. And I played 7 cities of gold, so the concept was familiar to me.
[This message has been edited by Dissident (edited March 28, 2001).]
Old March 29, 2001, 01:53   #4
Smash
Emperor

Local Time: 14:57