Old September 9, 2003, 08:36   #1
Shadow Dweller
Settler

Local Time: 08:27
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Heavy Frustration...
this game seems not to like me. How is ya'll are able to get your civs into ind or even modern age by(in some cass I've seen) early 1500 and 1600 ?? Normaly I'm doing good if I can get ind age by around 1750-75, and JUST getting there. I love this game, but now that I see all of these people flying up the tech tree it's starting to realy get on my nerves that I'm always soo far behind the average player here. I'm new to this type of game by any means(haveing been play games from MoM up) But for some reason Civ3 just kicks my @$$ in ways most games don't. Is this a counter product of too many nights up playing MoO2 and MoM?? or the fact that I'm not on PTW yet(won't be till Conquests) Sort for the ramble, but I had to just say something.(besides the fact that anything over warlord kicks me in the ball)
Old September 9, 2003, 09:23   #2
bongo
lifer
PtWDG2 Mohammed Al-SahafPtWDG Neu DemogypticaCivilization III PBEMC3CDG Blood Oath HordeIron CiversC4DG The HordeC4WDG éirich tuireann
Emperor

Local Time: 09:27
The people bragging in this forum about how early they can get to the industrial age isn't excactly what I would call 'average' players. More like 'very dedicated expert players', or 'anal retentive nitpickers'

If you want to join their ranks you have to read lots of posts, guides etc. and practice a lot. It takes time, you just have to ask youself it is worth it. If thats what you like, go ahead

I have come to the point where I can beat the crap out of the AI on monarch in over 90% of my games. I'm content with that, if I want to move up to emperor I have to change my playing style so much(read: go anal) that I probably will stop enjoying the game.
Old September 9, 2003, 11:56   #3
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 04:27