Old October 3, 2003, 19:18   #1
Jerh9e1k5
Warlord

Local Time: 09:50
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Managing Obsolete Units?
Hi guys (and girls ). I recently started playing SMAC again and I've always had my production lists so cluttered! When I go into the unit editing thingy (forgot the name) I have to say that each unit is obsolete one at a time, is there any way to speed this up? How do you manage the long list? Thanks!
Old October 3, 2003, 22:24   #2
Mongoose
ACDG The Free Drones
King

Local Time: 04:50
No. The Design Workshop is only marginally user friendly. There is no way to rearrange grouping, nor to perform an operation on multiple design slots simultaneously. The best advice I can offer is not to let it get too far ahead of you...keep at it every couple of turns.

The worst is when you get a new reactor. I always try to obsolete almost all my designs before acquiring a new reactor, then go back into the Workshop after doing so and design the 'new' units I want, upgrading or retiring the old ones I don't want and/or can afford to upgrade.
Old October 4, 2003, 00:08   #3
Jerh9e1k5
Warlord

lol, well that's too bad, thanks for the reply!
Old October 4, 2003, 01:18   #4
Sarxis
Rise of Nations MultiplayerAlpha Centauri PBEMCivilization III MultiplayerCivilization III PBEMCTP2 Source Code ProjectCall to Power II MultiplayerCall to Power MultiplayerCivilization IV: MultiplayerCivilization IV CreatorsGalCiv Apolyton Empire
Emperor

Local Time: 05:50
That's a good idea Mongoose. Never thought to obsolete them aforehand.

Old October 4, 2003, 05:48   #5
Lazerus
Alpha Centauri PBEMNationStates
King

Local Time: 10:50
The list of units that are actually useful in most games is rather short, its just that damn AI unit generator that gets your list cluttered so make sure to turn that off.