Old October 9, 2003, 12:08   #1
Josta
Settler

Local Time: 10:14
Local Date: November 2, 2010
The Redemption
Apologies for any break of protocol - I am new to all this story writing! My first attempt at a CIV3 story. Let me know what you think.

The Redemption

Timeless and formless I see and move all. Yet I am not a God. I am worshipped by those people who live and die, who feel pain as they are gutted by a spear, who laugh when they run in flaxen fields as children, who ache when they age. No God am I. I have no race other than that which I force myself on. An ethnic cuckoo, I have no culture of my own, I can merely bask in the reflected glory of that which my minions may construct. My notions of right and wrong are whimsical at best. I did not create this world, but I live in it. I have no home, other than a nominal palace, but this palace is a metaphor in itself, for I can never see inside it. There are others like me. They can move and see all as well, confined by their realm until their minions, as an extension of themselves, can push back boundaries and reduce others to dust. Ragged old men, groomed children, red eyed basilisks, women with pale skin, dark women who call and laugh as we cast our spells. Then the passive, motionless, featureless things. The most frightening of all. They all face me and I face them back. But not one of Us can hold fate in the palm of our hands and say that we know it.