Old October 13, 2003, 04:37   #1
janet killeen
Settler

Local Time: 10:29
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Zero Growth??????

Before you ask I have read the manual - well... most of it, I am a newbie and cannot understand why I have zero growth and / or overcrowding in many of my cities. I'm building hospitals and have researched sanitation etc - working my way through the list of buildings in what I consider to be a logical fashion, is there anything I can actually do? - unfortunately I have run out of available land to expand to.

Please someone give me some advice
Old October 13, 2003, 05:11   #2
bongo
lifer
PtWDG2 Mohammed Al-SahafPtWDG Neu DemogypticaCivilization III PBEMC3CDG Blood Oath HordeIron CiversC4DG The HordeC4WDG éirich tuireann
Emperor

Local Time: 11:29
Just to repeat the basics:
Cities will grow as long as they have a food surplus, you need an aqueduct(available with construction) or river to grow past size 6 and a hospital(sanitation) to get beyond 12. Harbors give extra food on sea squares, granaries also speed growth.....

Still not sure what your problem is, when does your cities stop growing?
Old October 13, 2003, 05:17   #3
Tiberius
PtWDG LegolandCivilization III PBEMInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamCivilization IV CreatorsC4DG Sarantium
Emperor

Local Time: 12:29
The growth of your cities doesn't depend on hospitals or any other city improvement (edit: oops, forgot about harbors).